“Be Still, My Soul” by Katharina von Schlegel

Lately, I’ve been listening to Meditation – Hymnscapes Volume 3 by David Huff/Crossroads Music.  I am enjoying the instrumental hymns, whether it is for personal devotions, creating a peaceful environment in my home, or in my yoga class, which is where I first heard the CD.  The familiar hymns have ministered to my soul, such as “I Surrender All,” “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus,” “Count Your Blessings,” and “Just As I Am.”  As I began listening to them all, however, I picked up a hymnal to read the lyrics with which I was not familiar.  The song I have been drawn to lately is “Be Still, My Soul.”

It is a hymn that gives me peace and comfort, as if God is reassuring us as His children not to fret, but to rest in Him.  May the message lift your heart as I share them today.

“Be Still, My Soul”

Finlandia

Katharina von Schlegel

Be still, my soul – the Lord is on thy side!  

Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain;

Leave to thy God to order and provide –

In every change, He faithful will remain.  

Be still my soul – thy best, thy heavenly Friend

Thru thorny ways leads to a joyful end. 

~~~~~

Be still, my soul –  thy God doth undertake

To guide the future as He has the past;

Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake – 

All now mysterious shall be bright at last.

Be still, my soul – the waves and winds still know

His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below.

~~~~~

Be still, my soul – the hour is hastening on

When we shall be forever with the Lord,

When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone,

Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.

Be still, my soul – when change and tears are past,

All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

Note: YouTube has many beautiful arrangements of this hymn, both vocal instrumental.  The Hymnscapes collection can be purchased at Mardel or online on different websites.  I purchased Volumes 3 – Meditation & 4 – Prayer together on Amazon.com.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sindy
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:05:59

    Thank you for sharing the words to this amazing song, Joy! I, too, love this song. I enjoy playing it on the piano and singing while I play. I usually can’t get through it without getting emotional! Also, thank you for sharing the info. about the cd’s. You continue to be an inspiration and encouragement to many!

    Reply

    • joyinmyjourney
      Apr 23, 2012 @ 22:32:54

      Sindy, I wish I could play it on the piano. 🙂 Maybe you can play it for me sometime. Vol 3 is my favorite, but I do plan on ordering more in the future. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

      Reply

  2. Susan Gardner
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 07:31:47

    Hello, I just so happened to find your blog. I was actually doing some research on my favorite Hymn, “Be still my Soul” and found your blog and saw “infertility” in the title. I have left two links for you here that shares our family’s journey on the subject. It is about my daughter and son in law their struggle and test of faith. The second link is the follow up video, that she made just two weeks ago. . The third one is a link to her Blog. I hope these experiences shared will bring a feeling of hope and joy. I understand everybody’s journey is unique in the experience of infertility, but it is my hope that peace and encouragement can be found in those feelings that are found in common.


    Sincerely,

    Susan Gardner

    Reply

    • joyinmyjourney
      Sep 14, 2013 @ 21:02:04

      Susan, Thank you so much for sharing your daughter and son-in-law’s story. The video was effective and compelling. The ending took me by surprise, but truthfully, it represents what all of us have experienced on our journey of infertility in one way or another. I did take a peek at their blog and rejoice with you in the precious granddaughter! How encouraging it is to hear of another answered prayer. God bless you all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

