Praying Is Asking

I yearned and prayed for a baby.  Month after month, year after year, my prayers were still unanswered.  At times I would grow weary of praying and waiting.  Perhaps those well-meaning people who said they were praying I would get pregnant if it’s God’s will were trying to tell me, maybe it’s not God’s will for me to get pregnant.  Was His answer “No?”  Many times I remember praying, “I believe you can open my womb, Lord.  Help thou mine unbelief.”  One time a friend from church asked my husband if we could accept it if God didn’t want us to have children (naturally).  He answered, yes, but that we didn’t believe the Lord had completely closed that door.  What did we learn in times like this?  Keep praying!

As Christians, prayer is a vital part of our life or should be.  Even little children learn how to pray and God hears their prayers.  Jesus gave us a model prayer in Matthew 6.  I have heard lessons on how we should pray using the acronym ACTS – adoration, confession, thanksgiving, and supplication.  These examples of prayer have their place, but I heard a message once, actually twice in the span of seven months, on prayer.  It was like a breath of fresh air to hear a sermon like that, as if I had permission to keep praying for a baby!  I didn’t need permission but it was still reassuring that God was ok with me praying for a baby, even if I’d been praying for one for 8 years.

On March 30, 2005, an evangelist at our church preached from Luke 11:5-10 on prayer.  The specific verse that mentions the word “importunity” is Luke 11:8b, “because of his importunity, he will rise and give him as many as he needeth.”  Importunity is persistent praying or asking.

  1. God wants us to ask.
  2. God wants to answer.
  3. God wants to give us His Spirit to do His work in us.

This is his message in a nutshell.  Praying is asking.  Importunity is relentless asking.  God is not offended when we ask for things, and if our prayer – what we ask for – is not answered, keep asking.  Keep praying!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa Hoppe
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 06:40:13

    Thanks for sharing this. Funny how God works….I was just ‘asking’ this very question a few days ago. Is God getting ‘tired’ of me continually asking for, praying for a Child. My husband and I have been TTC for 6 yrs now. I KNOW I will be a Mommy one day!!! But, sometimes ‘those thoughts’ come in and try to ‘steal’ what you KNOW that you KNOW that you KNOW, that you WILL have a child.

    Reply

    • joyinmyjourney
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 14:32:28

      Thank you for taking the time to reply, Theresa. Yes, I am thankful the Lord hears our prayers and doesn’t tire if we keep asking. As a friend told me once, stay encouraged, stay in His Word, and praise Him. I will pray for you. Psalm 113:9

      Reply

Leave a Reply

