“God Wants To Hear You Sing” by Rodney Griffin

The first time I heard this song was at the Southern Gospel Jubilee.  It’s a beautiful song, and one I needed to hear.  After having another surgery for endometriosis in April 2002, I was really down, and my pastor’s wife tried to cheer me up by encouraging me to listen to some Southern Gospel tapes.  I always thought when I was sad, it was hard to sing because the songs just made me cry even more, but when I heard this song, it really meant a lot to me that God would want to hear me sing in praise to Him, just as Paul and Silas did, when they were bound in prison.  Just a couple of years ago, we were blessed to hear Greater Vision sing this in person!

“God Wants To Hear You Sing”

by Rodney Griffin of Greater Vision

……………………………………..

Their chains were fastened tight down at the jail that night.

Still Paul and Silas would not be dismayed.

They said, “It’s time to lift our voice, sing praises to the Lord.

Let’s prove that we will trust Him come what may.”

……………………………………..

He loves to hear our praise on our cheerful days

When the pleasant times outweigh the bad by far.

But when suffering comes along, and we still sing him songs,

That is when we bless the Father’s heart.

………………………………………

God wants to hear you sing

When the waves are crashing ’round you,

When the fiery darts surround you,

When despair is all you see.

God wants to hear your voice

When the wisest man has spoken

And says, “Your circumstance is as hopeless as can be.”

That’s when God wants to hear you sing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sindy
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 11:49:58

    I love this song, too! It is so true! Thank you for sharing it , Joy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

