Psalm 113:9 God’s Promise

“He maketh the barren woman to keep house and to be a joyful mother of children.  Praise ye the Lord.” Psalm 113:9

My first laparoscopy surgery was scheduled for July 30, 2000.  A week before that on July 23rd, I was reading in Psalms.  Someone once said you should try to read one Proverb a day and 5 Psalms a day, then you can read through both books every month.  Since it was the 23rd day, I read Psalms 111-115.

When I got to Psalm 113:9, it was as if those words were the only words on the page.  “He maketh the barren woman to keep house and to be a joyful mother of children.  Praise ye the Lord.”  I had read Psalms many times before, but I did not remember ever seeing those words.  They were God’s words to ME!  What joy I felt in my heart, such comfort and full of promise.  I remember sharing it with my mom and other friends and family.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kasdaniels
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 15:09:37

    Wow! I have never seen this verse and I absolutely love it. I just started my journey a year ago. I too have stage IV endo and spent most of 2009 mourning the loss of the child I had always envisioned. My sister has stage IV also but through IVF gave birth to 3 beautiful children. I however feel called to adopt. My husband and I are beginning that journey today 🙂

    Thanks for blogging…I love (and need) all the encouragement I can get.

    http://ourquiethope.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. joyinmyjourney
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 21:13:57

    Thank you for encouraging me! Your commenting is a sign that my blog has reached its intended recipient(s). As someone once shared with me, “Be encouraged, stay in His Word, and praise Him.” May God bless you on your journey.

    Reply

  3. kasdaniels
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 03:04:12

    Thank you so much 🙂 It just goes to show that each of us has a story (no matter how painful) that can be used to bless others. Thanks for sharing!

    I have to tell you that I twittered that verse the other day and it stirred up quite a few comments. Many had the impression I was pregnant…I had to be clear that it was just a message of hope right now! ha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

